I just can’t figure you out Lord,

Lord I have tried so hard to figure you out.

I keep on messing up falling away from you,

Running this way and that, running away from you!

Always getting into things that I should not!

And then there are the feelings of doubt and fear,

The never getting quite there with you!

My tears and songs of sorrow have been given to you so many
times.

I pour out my soul to you so often that you must be mad.

But you keep on loving me!

You let your love wash over me,

Like waves and breakers on a sea shore,

Sometimes gentle or like a mighty storm.

You just blow me away and always wipe me clean.

You deep never ending love calls to me like a roar

Like a powerful water fall you swathe me in love.

And I think of all the things that you have done for me.

You bless me so much you are my God and rock.

My provider and lover of my soul!

Everything I have is from you.

My very bones are yours.

By day you give me love and by night you give me peace.

You are there for me always Lord.

I just can’t figure you out Lord,

But thank you.

Amen

3 thoughts on “I just can’t figure you out Lord,

  1. Very nice. My favorite lines are “You let your love wash over me,/Like waves and breakers on a sea shore,” “My very bones are yours.” and “By day you give me love and by night you give me peace.” Love, Helen

  2. This poem is so reflective of the Christian walk. Jesus is faithful and true, he will never leave us or forsake us! Yet, we continue to turn our backs on Him from time to time. Praise His Holy Name that He is always waiting for us with open arms when we are ready to turn back to Him!

Leave a Reply

