The Storm!

When I hear the first thunder and then the powerful rush of rain.

I think of you Lord!

When your thunder is spine-tingling, and your lightning is sketched on the sky.

I think of you Lord!

When your steams of water are flowing all around.

I think of you Lord!

And the waves of the wind billow and blow.

I think of you Lord!

And when the soft rains come, and I smell the ground.

I think of you!

And I remember!

I Remember your sweet rain!

For it is you who makes the storm clouds, who gives showers of rain.

It is you who comes to us like the showers, and the rains that water the earth.

You paint the sky with a majesty of color.

And you bless us and fill us with spirit, we are like a river that never runs dry.

We just have to remember and have faith, a close and loving faith.

Faith in the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.

Faith to be intimate with you, even when the storms seem to overwhelm us.

Faith to hold on and find you as the anchor in our stormy life.

And faith to remember you in the small things, and the big.

And to do the things that you call us to do in our life no matter what the cost.

For you are the God of sweet rain.

And though the seasons change your love remains.

Amen.

One thought on “The Storm!

  1. I saw a picture of a storm on my computer desktop today from Bing. then I was cleaning the car and a storm moved in. Then I thought of the power of God and of a Poem by Sara Teasdale called Spring Rain. So this is a nod to her poem and the power of God, I wrote this during a service called hosting his presence at my church.

Leave a comment